The succession to the British Throne is regulated by the Bill of Rights and the Act of Settlement. The second of these extends the succession to Electress Sophia of Hanover and the heirs of Sophia's body. The following is a list of the descendants of Sophia, as of 1 January 1721, arranged in sequence by their eligibility to become the heir of her body. This type of list is often referred to as the "Order of Succession" to the British Throne.

William Addams Reitwiesner

Succession to the British Throne in 1721

Children of Sophia Kfstin v Hannover
SOV  George I K Gt Britain (*1660)
 1.     George P Wales (*1683)
 2.        Frederick D Gloucester (*1707)
 3.        Anne Pss Gt Britain (*1709)
 4.        Amelia Pss Gt Britain (*1711)
 5.        Caroline Pss Gt Britain (*1713)
 6.     Sophia Dorothea v Hannover (*1687) m. Friedrich Wilhelm Kg in Preussen [15 below]
 7.        Friedrich Pz v Orange (*1712)
 8.        Wilhelmine v Preussen (*1709)
 9.        Friederike Luise v Preussen (*1714)
10.        Charlotte v Preussen (*1716)
11.        Sophie v Preussen (*1719)
12.        Luise Ulrike v Preussen (*1720)
13.  Maximilian Wilhelm Pz v Hannover (*1666)
14.  Ernst August Pz v Hannover FstB v Osnabrück D York (*1674)
 X.  [Sophia Charlotte v Hannover m. Friedrich I Kg in Preussen]
15.     Friedrich Wilhelm Kg in Preussen (*1687) m. Sophia Dorothea v Hannover [6 above]
 X.        [7-12, above]